• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

20D focus problems

Ron Morse

I've been using my 20D for about 2 years. I shoot horse shows about every weekend in the summer. I always have a high percentage of shots that are out of focus. It doesn't matter if they are running or standing still. I've tried a monopod and a tripod. I've tried AI servo and one shot. I always use a fast shutter speed when they are running. I get the same results with my 70-200 f4, 70-200 f2.8 IS, 500 and with all my lenses. I did get a lot more keepers when I went to just the center focus point but still a lot out of focus any time i'm 50 feet or more away.
My cousin, a nikon man, said that damn canon needs to be calibrated. I used his nikon D2X and 70-200VR for one show and a very high percentage were keepers. Before that I blamed myself.
Is this something canon can fix?

I think that I will wait and see what canon comes out with early in the spring and get a new version of the 5D or 1DmIIn. Only thing with the 5D is the fps. I usually shoot 4 frames at a jump trying to get that perfect shot.

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
A used 1DII should be available for portrait and landscape guys who went for the 1DII before and now have the 5D.

You will be much happier with a 1DII. It is designed for what you do. Of course you may have a calibration issue with your 20D. If I was in your position I'd look for a used 1DII and keep the 20D as backup.