• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

1DMKII(n) and exposure

Sam Delfino

I have been working on capturing birds in flight and have come a long way, it is a lot to keep up with as admittedly I am an amateur still learning. Even with the progress I have made the last piece of the puzzle that I am struggling with is consistent exposure across a fast sequence of pictures. I am using a 1DMKII or n version at times and am curious as to feedback as to what people in similar circumstances have had better success with when it comes to cfn 4 and exposure compensation. I am of course using aiservo and have been experimenting with center point on and off, Av mode being set between f4-f8 depending on how the lighting is that day to keep the Tv up and other custom settings are cfn 8=1, 17=1 and 18=2 which came from the EOS_Digital.pdf
I have now begun dialing in anywhere from +1/3 to +2/3 exposure compensation as even with my custom settings I seem to get under exposed images which when I try to manipulate in PS (shooting RAW and JPG) I get noise (or as some have called it jpg artifacts) in the dark areas as I bring the exposure up. That coupled with the fact that I seem to get drastically varying AE levels what’s next in my learning curve?? Any input would be appreciated. Below is a shot from my last trip, not perfect but way ahead of where I started.
http://www.pbase.com/samd12/image/70232850.jpg