• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

First Attempt at Focus Stacking

Chris Calohan

I am disappointed there is not a "Nature" thread which can stand on its own without being a close-up or an animal..can you fix this, Asher?

This is my first attempt at focus stacking.

8569038541_6205a096c0_o.jpg

Old Biddies & Spring Chickens: Chris Calohan​

Antonio Correia

Hello Chris :)

Do you think that it is a good option to show the cactus partly in shadow and partly under direct sun light ?

The stacking is perfect Chris. Are you using any software or just CS to do it ?

The colours under the shadow are very nice :) as they give the real sensation of a cactus full of water...

Chris Calohan

I liked the lighting challenge of shooting both in full sun and good shadow, so I guess the answer is yes.

I am just using CS6 for the stack and blending.

Perhaps this edit helps you with the overpowering light on the right yet allows me the transition from light to dark.

8569184941_8001aab58f_o.jpg

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
I liked the lighting challenge of shooting both in full sun and good shadow, so I guess the answer is yes.

I am just using CS6 for the stack and blending.

Perhaps this edit helps you with the overpowering light on the right yet allows me the transition from light to dark.

8569184941_8001aab58f_o.jpg

Chris,

If it's not against your sense of honesty, might it not be worth removing the vertical elements above the center of the array of cactus leaves?