PDA

View Full Version : FS: Canon 1ds Mark II


Gerado Lopez
March 22nd, 2007, 09:11 AM
Hey guys. I am currently trying to sell my Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II. I got it for christmas so it is "Brand New". It has less than 1000 shots taken on it and is still under original canon warranty. Only reason that I am selling it is that I need to earn some cash pretty quickly. I got it around christmas to begin my photography career however it has not worked out as I planned thus far. There is absolutly no cosmetic damage to the camera and it is as mint a "used camera" you will ever find. I had tried to put it on ebay but that was a disaster resulting in many fake bidders and a guy winning turning out to be fraud so I am done with them. I am asking $5000 for the camera. I realize this is my first post so just to increase trust for the transaction I would do paypal or google payments as a means of payment. You can PM me or email me at dvsmithboy23@yahoo.com

Just letting you know, not intersted in trades for the camera.

Anthony Arkadia
March 28th, 2007, 09:38 AM
Hey guys. I am currently trying to sell my Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II. I got it for christmas so it is "Brand New". It has less than 1000 shots taken on it and is still under original canon warranty. Only reason that I am selling it is that I need to earn some cash pretty quickly. I got it around christmas to begin my photography career however it has not worked out as I planned thus far. There is absolutly no cosmetic damage to the camera and it is as mint a "used camera" you will ever find. I had tried to put it on ebay but that was a disaster resulting in many fake bidders and a guy winning turning out to be fraud so I am done with them. I am asking $5000 for the camera. I realize this is my first post so just to increase trust for the transaction I would do paypal or google payments as a means of payment. You can PM me or email me at dvsmithboy23@yahoo.com

Just letting you know, not intersted in trades for the camera.

I sent you an Email

Anthony Arkadia
March 29th, 2007, 07:32 AM
You have mail.

Anthony Arkadia
March 30th, 2007, 05:50 AM
Well must not want to sell it that bad!

Ray West
March 30th, 2007, 06:11 AM
Hi Anthony,

We do not normally allow first time posters to go straight to 'buy sell', since they are very much an unknown quantity to opf (not that opf can assume any responsibility for such transactions). However, this one has slipped through.

Reading the original wording, and the lack of user profile details, I think it could well be a scam of some sort, so maybe think yourself lucky you have not had a reply. Of course, if eventually you find otherwise, please report back here.

Best wishes,

Ray

Anthony Arkadia
March 30th, 2007, 10:25 AM
Will do.... i will never do a transaction with anyone unless they give me their home phone #, it must be listed in the phone dir, and they must answer the phone when i call that number, otherwise it is a no deal! Thank you for the concerns and will keep you abreast.

Anthony Arkadia
March 31st, 2007, 04:29 PM
he Was A Fraud... Mods Ban His Ip

Anthony Arkadia
April 1st, 2007, 05:13 AM
He was a fraud, when he called i asked him for a home phone number, he said he did not have one, i did a cell phone number check, phone was listed in someone else's name.
Then he was suppose to call me back, but when i told him i needed the camera serial number to call Canon and verify that A:) It was not stolen and B:) That it was even a valid serial number and C:) Canon would tell me were it was purchased.
Well needless to say he ran for the hills, i would Ban his IP

Anthony Arkadia
April 1st, 2007, 05:32 AM
Always ask for their home phone number, then make sure that their phone number is listed in the phone directory. Then call them at their home phone number!
Once they give you their home phone number you can go here Intelius (http://www.intelius.com/) and find out the home address registered to that phone number. Then once you have that information; the Frauder has no idea that you have done this, ask him for his home address, if it does not match, you got him.
IF NO ONE IS WILLING TO GIVE YOU THEIR HOME PHONE NUMBER RUN FOR THE HILLS!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Ray West
April 1st, 2007, 05:57 AM
This thread relates to a recent sequence of events. OPF can not verify the integrity of buyers or sellers, so take reasonable precautions, as Anthony has done. We do not normally allow first time poster to post straight to buy/sell. Apart from a few wasted phone calls, and the waste of time, little has been lost.

Nicolas Claris
April 1st, 2007, 07:17 AM
If you use Intellius, you'll have to pay to get a record, not that expensive to avoid dealing with a thief!
And it is USA only...

You also may check here (http://www.pagesjaunes.fr/pj.cgi?lang=en&faire=monde) and choose among the directories for the country you've selected.

Anthony Arkadia
April 3rd, 2007, 07:11 AM
Another nice link Nick.

Asher Kelman
April 3rd, 2007, 01:16 PM
Ray,

I reread the whole thread and I understand!

A great learning experience.

Asher

Steve Saunders
May 9th, 2007, 03:01 AM
I think it's worth keeping this thread permanently as a lot can be learned from it. It might also serve to deter future scammers as well once they read it.

Steve Saunders
May 9th, 2007, 03:10 AM
BTW this guy has struck elsewhere since he tried here. I just used Webferret (free from www.ferretsoft.com) to search his e-mail addy and found this one (selling a laptop);

http://forums.macnn.com/59/marketplace/331472/macbook-pro-17-a/

Steve Saunders
May 9th, 2007, 03:16 AM
Oh this just gets better. Same guy is active here;

http://www.ioffer.com/user_profiles/show/optimum14

I'll have a quick look for more. Can't spend too long at this as I'm in work at the moment and grumpy secretary doesn't like mucky fingers on her keyboard.

Nicolas Claris
May 9th, 2007, 06:04 AM
I think it's worth keeping this thread permanently as a lot can be learned from it. It might also serve to deter future scammers as well once they read it.

You're right, also let people know that we do store IPs (only moderators have access to this info...), so in case, thieves can be located, not their exact address though... but not that far!

http://mnclaris.free.fr/forum/IP.jpg

Steve Saunders
May 9th, 2007, 06:20 AM
IP isn't always reliable these days Nicolas. On my own humble board I see a lot of the regular posters have many different IP address, I think they are dynamic IPs randomly assigned when the person connects to the web. Our wireless connection in work assigns us different IP numbers all the time.

BTW, what city does the map show? It doesn't exactly look like Lagos, where I believe the main Scammers College is based!

Chuck Fry
May 9th, 2007, 10:26 AM
BTW, what city does the map show? It doesn't exactly look like Lagos, where I believe the main Scammers College is based!

That is Washington, DC, USA. Notice the Washington Monument (obelisk) bottom center...

Nicolas Claris
May 9th, 2007, 12:58 PM
IP isn't always reliable these days Nicolas. On my own humble board I see a lot of the regular posters have many different IP address, I think they are dynamic IPs randomly assigned when the person connects to the web. Our wireless connection in work assigns us different IP numbers all the time.

BTW, what city does the map show? It doesn't exactly look like Lagos, where I believe the main Scammers College is based!

Bonsoir Steve

true but IP ar more and more static with cable and dsl.
Both home and office, we have dynamic addresses for each machine (wifi at home and wifi + Ethernet at office), but they are all directed by a router that have a fixed IP address from the provider... then our IP can be easily located.
For the really dynamic addresses, at least we know the provider...

Steve Saunders
May 9th, 2007, 02:42 PM
Well spotted Chuck!

Michael Fontana
May 9th, 2007, 04:46 PM
having a webdomaine, often parth of the mailadress, one might ask whois, either in the web, or in the mac's network utility.

So the OPFserver is at: Herndon, VA. and maintained by Network Solutions

Nicolas Claris
May 10th, 2007, 12:20 AM
Hi Michael

Network Solutions maintains domain names, not servers ;-)

Michael Fontana
May 10th, 2007, 02:17 PM
thanks Nicolas

good to know!