• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

My first studio shoot, ever!

Cem_Usakligil

Hi folks,

I am almost too shy to post this considering the fact that I am a huge noob when it comes to studio photograhy. The other day, I did my first ever shooting session at the home studio of a good friend of mine. I was totally unfamiliar with the equipment, my friend had to help me in setting things up. To make matters worse, the light meter was broken so I had to do some trial and error first. It was very, very frustrating. Luckily our model Renate, who is a good friend of my friend, was very patient with me.

This one was taken with a soft box on the right hand side (of me) and a fill light on the left. Camera 5D, lens 70-200 F4 IS. I did nothing to heal her skin in PS, I just used the sharpening action of Nicolas at 12% final opacity. No color correction in PS, only in ACR (white balance and exposure).

Please feel free to C&C honestly, I haven't got any shield up on this one. I'll be glad to learn from you :).

img_39188_0_226552576-O.jpg

Cheers,

StuartRae

Hi Cem,

I'm no portrait artist either, but IMO that a lovely shot - it captures the essence of a beautiful lady.

Two minor points:

I would have liked to see the top of her head.
I may have been tempted to clone out the small mole (?) on her neck. Nothing wrong with having one, just a bit distracting.

Regards,

Stuart

I am almost too shy to post this considering the fact that I am a huge noob when it comes to studio photograhy.