• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Buying a film scanner...

Don Shreve

pro member
...And I didn't see a category for scanners.
I'm looking at getting the Nikon 5000 ED.
I need a scanner that will handle B&W negatives, as well as slides & color negs. My experience trying to scan BW negs has been disappointing.
Does anyone have this scanner & can tell me how the BW looks?
Alos, why does Silverfast scanning software cost so much?

Alain Briot

pro member
Steve,

I have no experience with the Nkn 5000. I use an Imacon personally.

I do have the answer however regarding "why silverfast costs so much" it is because you get what you pay for. The same question can be asked of many other top quality software, such as Image Print, Photoshop and many other.

There are cheap scanning software out there, but I don't think you want to use them. The Imacon software is in estimate better than silverscan, and because it is bundled with the scanners, is certainly an important factor in their pricing.

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
A good place to read how the sub-Imacon scanners do, compared to each other, is to look at the British site:

http://www.photo-i.co.uk/Reviews/interactive/Epson V750/page_5.htm

Here is a quote from the reivew of the new Epson flat bed scanner that appears to do a pretty good job with film using Silverfast.

It compares thew Epson V750 Pro with the Nikon LS9000 ED.