PDA

View Full Version : Canon Computer-linked capture software with 450D


John Kirby
October 27th, 2008, 04:32 PM
I'm helping a client set up a small, in-house shooting facility for product work.
I'm recommending a 450D (XSi) with a 50mm macro and a small 3-head flash kit for the lighting.
Can anyone cite any experience with using the current Canon computer-linked capture software, if possible, with this camera?
I used Chris Breeze's dslr pro very successfully for many years when I was doing studio work, which I will recommend, but I just wondered how good is the current Canon remote capture software? It used to be very basic, which is why I went for dslr pro originally.
Any info would be appreciated,
John.

Asher Kelman
October 27th, 2008, 06:23 PM
Hi John,

It's important to know what system software is being used on the computer. The Canon software works but Canon is not clear in its download center and so far I'm frustrated that the download for one named files delivers another. However a brand new Xti or Xsi will have the up to date Eos Utility for doing what you want so you'll be O.K.

Asher

John Kirby
October 27th, 2008, 07:08 PM
Thanks Asher,
Windows XP is his installed software, although he also runs Macs, which obviously can't be used with dslr pro. Guess we'll find out once we have the camera and the current software disc. I may well end up answering my own question!
John.

Asher Kelman
October 27th, 2008, 11:44 PM
Thanks Asher,
Windows XP is his installed software, although he also runs Macs, which obviously can't be used with dslr pro. Guess we'll find out once we have the camera and the current software disc. I may well end up answering my own question!
John.
John,

On his Intel-Mac you can instal a number of programs such as Parallels which allow you to install Windows XP. Then you can install any windows software!

Asher