• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

I need some advice...

Bruce Hemingway

I would like to take a photography workshop somewhere in the world this summer. I'm totally consumed with the idea of art photography, without any commercial needs. I have great equipment, and I am a very technically-oriented photographer, so I'm not looking for technical instruction. Some samples of my work are here: http://hemingway.cs.washington.edu/portfolio/

So, can anyone recommend an immersive art workshop that will really push me as to vision, style, and art? I'm an old guy, so trekking in Nepal is out...

Thanks,

Bruce Hemingway

Ken Tanaka

pro member
Welcome Bruce.

You live in a wonderful place on the planet for photography. So it makes most sense for you to first check with your own school, the U of W College of Arts & Sciences. Surely they must offer courses and workshops, perhaps as part of continuing education.

Not being a "workshop" person I cannot direct you elsewhere. There are many. Across the country, the school at Rockport has a good reputation, although I thought they recently had some financial turmoil. The Santa Fe Workshops are also quite reputable and somewhat prestigious.

If you're not up for traveling you can probably find something locally. It seems that nearly every "professional" photographer tries to offer "workshops" to supplement their incomes, especially "professional landscape" photographers (whatever that is!).

Kathy Rappaport

pro member
Ken's advice