• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Lens Upgrading, any help appreciated

Alex Furbush

Hello all,

I am looking to upgrade from my standard Nikon D40 kit lens, the AF-S Nikkor 18-55. I'm interested in an inexpensive macro lens, as well as a better lens I can use for landscape shots, per say. Are there any lenses of these 2 types I can find for under $100? I'm a 16 year old student living at home, working with a D40 I bought myself last year and now find myself a bit restricted by the kit lens, and would like to upgrade a bit without having to spend a ton. Any and all suggestions and help is appreciated!

charlie chipman

$100 is quite a limiting budget as far as lenses go. If I were you I would be looking for older used AI or AIS nikkors (manual focus). You can use the NON AI lenses as well but they will need to be modified otherwise they will damage your lens mount so keep an eye out for that (http://www.aiconversions.com/ for information on modifying.) You will have to manually adjust exposure for them to work with the D40, but it can be done within or close to your $100 budget.

Take a look at the link below and you can find some 55mm micro lenses for right around $100 give or take (again keep an eye out for AI/AIS/non AI) , there are some 105mm micro's for between $100 and $200. Check out ebay and or craigslist as well.

http://www.keh.com/OnLineStore/Prod...=&ID=24&BC=NK&BCC=1&CC=6&CCC=2&BCL=&GBC=&GCC=