• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

A nice B&W shot i took in my backyard

Francisco Lefs

Hi folks i am new to this forum and have been wanting to participate for a while, I am a beginner at photography compared to some of the work i have seen here.

So i would like to learn some more about this interesting art and maybe get some help in the process.

Here is a black and white picture i took and would like to know what you folks think.

The camera and settings where :Sony a200 1/500 f4 iso 100 with a minolta maxxum af 70-210

3753257581_9c284db9d4_b.jpg

Last edited:

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
Hi folks i am new to this forum and have been wanting to participate for a while, I am a beginner at photography compared to some of the work i have seen here.

So i would like to learn some more about this interesting art and maybe get some help in the process.

Here is a black and white picture i took and would like to know what you folks think.

The camera and settings where :Sony a200 1/500 f4 iso 100 with a minolta maxxum af 70-210

3753257581_9c284db9d4_b.jpg

Hi Francisco,

B&W photography is the most historically important and well trodden path for experienced and technically competent photographers. We see shapes, tones, texture and composition devoid of the emotional qualities of color.