• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Pms trouble!

Michael Seltzer

Hello,

My wife has given me some PANTONE numbers and wants me to display them on my color-profiled monitor so she can get an idea what they look like. I'm not entirely certain my display can show all PANTONE colors accurately, but I thought I'd give it a try, anyway. But here's the problem:

First, I don't entirely understand the numbers (I've never worked with PANTONE colors before). They are:
PANTONE 19-2311 TC, PANTONE 19-1664 TC, PANTONE 19-4227 TC, PANTONE 15-1515 TC.

I don't know what the 2-digit prefix followed by a dash means. All the PMS numbers I've seen are only 3 or 4 digits, no dash. Also, I don't understand the suffix. "U," "C," "M," these I get, but not "TC." Does the "C" part mean "coated"? Can I just find a solid coated color of the same number?

Secondly, I can't find any of these numbers (even without the prefix and the TC) in the Pantone libraries in Photoshop (CS3).

Any help, suggestions, enlightenment appreciated.

Thanks

Cem_Usakligil

Hi Michael,

I don't want to sound harsh but this info you could easily find on the net by using a search engine. It took me just a minute to find these links:
Find Pantone Colors
PANTONE numbering systems explained

Re. the TC, it says: