Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > Digital Darkroom > Image Processing and Workflow

Image Processing and Workflow RAW, DNG , TIFF and JPG. From Capture to Ready for Publish/Display. All software and techniques used within an image workflow, (except extensive retouching and repair or DAM).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 12th, 2010, 08:25 PM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,279
Default Phtoshop CS5 - Automatic application of IPTC metadata?

I have not been a serious Photoshop user, but I'm making my peace with the beast.

Somehow, I had been under the impression that PS could automatically apply user-preset IPTC metadata (or additional Exif metadata) by default to each edited file (for example, a copyright notice, photographer's contact information, standard usage terms, etc.).

But I don't seem to find any provision for doing such, nor any mention of it in the Help system.

I am of course aware of the possibility of creating metadata templates and summoning one when processing an image. Perhaps that was what people had been speaking of.

I'd appreciate any additional information on this.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 13th, 2010, 05:04 AM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug_Kerr View Post
I have not been a serious Photoshop user, but I'm making my peace with the beast.

Somehow, I had been under the impression that PS could automatically apply user-preset IPTC metadata (or additional Exif metadata) by default to each edited file (for example, a copyright notice, photographer's contact information, standard usage terms, etc.).

But I don't seem to find any provision for doing such, nor any mention of it in the Help system.

I am of course aware of the possibility of creating metadata templates and summoning one when processing an image. Perhaps that was what people had been speaking of.

I'd appreciate any additional information on this.

Thanks.
Hi Doug,

I'm currently waiting for the delivery of my PS CS5, so I don't know what, if anything, has changed, but on my CS3 file info dialog box there is a cicular icon with an arrow at the top right, a fly-out menu.

There you can save your current information, and later apply it with one click to other files.

Cheers,
Bart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 13th, 2010, 06:07 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,279
Default

Hi, Bart,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_van_der_Wolf View Post
I'm currently waiting for the delivery of my PS CS5, so I don't know what, if anything, has changed, but on my CS3 file info dialog box there is a cicular icon with an arrow at the top right, a fly-out menu.

There you can save your current information, and later apply it with one click to other files.
I think that may be comparable to the provision in PS CS5 for saving the current metadata to a named template, and later, calling that back to apply to the then-current file.

Jerry Skrocki pointed out in another forum where I had also posted this inquiry that the metadata held in a template could be applied en masse to multiple files under Bridge.

Thanks for your input.

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 15th, 2010, 04:42 AM
Mike Bailey Mike Bailey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin, United States
Posts: 114
Default

Doug,

You could create an action that contains whatever EXIF information, like a filled out copyright notice page to apply to the file, if you haven't looked into that.

Mike
______________
http://bluerockphotography.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Blue-Rock-Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 15th, 2010, 05:55 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,279
Default

Hi, Mike,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Bailey View Post
You could create an action that contains whatever EXIF information, like a filled out copyright notice page to apply to the file, if you haven't looked into that.
Good point. Thanks.

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: EXIF Etiquette! The provenance and pedigree of work shown here! Asher Kelman Layback Cafe 15 February 3rd, 2011 07:29 AM
Photoshop CS5 - Metadata handling Doug Kerr Image Processing and Workflow 4 May 15th, 2010 04:37 AM
About IPTC metadata Doug Kerr Imaging Technology: Theory, Alternatives, Practice and Advances. 5 November 2nd, 2009 11:16 AM
Automatic exposure "calibration" of my EOS 40D Doug Kerr Canon Eos Mount DSLRs 1 May 21st, 2009 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!