• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Photographic style

Paul Bestwick

pro member
As I look around my studio I see something which has occurred. I t has been gradual & I had not really been aware that it was taking place. I refer to photographic style or a signature if you like.
In my case, I have been shooting weddings now for 15 years. ( In my city I am at the top of the market with maybe 2 other shooters. I regulary get 4-7K for my weddings & my biggest is 13K)
Out of 15 years of shooting professionally I reckon it probably took me 10 years to really become fully confident that I could come up with the goods to a high standard. I think that now, after 15 years I am approaching a new level that encompasses a feeling of freedom when shooting. No longer encumbered with technical fear I am now free to direct & compose. It is like being a movie director/ artist/ maestro all rolled into one. I never understood that purely by virtue of the fact that I was out there doing it over & over under all sorts of challenging conditions that I would grow & mature as a photographer. Having said that of course, from where I view at the moment I think I am maybe 5 years of reaching my peak & from that point there will be another plateau to reach. Can other shooters here relate to what I am saying.

Cheers

Paul

Paul Bestwick

pro member