• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Hello from central Texas

Erik DeBill

I'm a programmer who likes to spend as much time as possible out hiking and enjoying the outdoors. I shoot nature and wildlife almost exclusively. I'm interested in all parts of the photographic process, from visualizing/composing the image (including how to do that FAST for flight shots) all the way through printing and mounting the resulting images (I run through far too much ink and paper for someone who doesn't sell prints).

I shoot a Canon 20d and print on an Epson 2200. Software is Bibble for raw conversion, Gimp for touch-ups and Photoshop Elements as a RIP (the first two under Linux, Photoshop on a mac mini).

Erik DeBill

Nikolai Sklobovsky said:
Welcome Erik!
Another fellow programmer here, yay!

:) I'll be curious how many there are. I'm not the only amateur photographer where I work, though I think I'm the only one to plaster my walls with prints.

I'm also curious if anyone else uses Linux at all in their process. I spent several years trying very hard to do everything I wanted to under Linux and am now in the process of giving up on it for photography work.

Don Lashier

Erik DeBill said:
:) I'll be curious how many there are. I'm not the only amateur photographer where I work, though I think I'm the only one to plaster my walls with prints.
I'd bet that programmers are high percentage of serious amateurs - "quasi" pros. I've been programming for 40 years and still hard at it.