• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Tip for speeding up 5D focus

Ben Rubinstein

pro member
I've always found the 5D's focus in low light to be sluggish. It was one of the main reasons I went back to the 24-70L over the slower 24-105L, I needed all the speed I can get. I'm a wedding photographer and for the dances and those split second candid moments I need every millisecond I can lay my hands on. Unfortunatly I never noticed that my 1Ds which I used prior to the 5D was particularly faster, not in comparison to the lightening fast D2X for example.

I've known for a while that it was the AF assist that was slowing the focus down. I shoot with a flash constantly on camera, for main light or more often for fill. I've toyed with the idea of disabling the AF assist with its horribly slow (or so it seems when shooting action!) - activate/start focus/achieve focus/activate to check focus/allow shutter to release - workflow. For the off center points you can just forget it!

However I've been wary to switch it off 'in the field' being worried about what it would do to my focus in the real world, testing is fine but you cannot afford to test mid dance at a wedding!