Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > Digital Darkroom > Image Processing and Workflow

Image Processing and Workflow RAW, DNG , TIFF and JPG. From Capture to Ready for Publish/Display. All software and techniques used within an image workflow, (except extensive retouching and repair or DAM).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 17th, 2007, 04:28 AM
Tim Armes Tim Armes is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Drôme, France
Posts: 404
Default LR/Mogrify plugin. My new Lightroom plugin.

Hi all,

I've written about this on the Lightroom forums but I thought I'd mention it here too, since this is my "main" forum :)

Frustrated by Alamy's 48Mb image size requirement, and the fact that Lightroom's export feature can't automatically resize images by the minimum amount necessary to guaranty that the requirement is met, I've written a plugin to solve the problem and improve my workflow.

The plugin applies ImageMagick's mogrify command to exported images. ImageMagick is a set of powerful, freeware command line utilities for Mac or PC.

Although my motivations were very specific, this plugin could be used by anyone who needs to further post process images using mogrify, and I've therefore decided to release it free of charge. The plugin currently allows the user to resize images using a choice of resizing algorithm and reconvert the resulting image to another format. Users can also enter their own command line parameters to control all the other aspects of mogrify.

I'm willing to improve the plugin to expose other mogrify features via the user interface if enough interest is shown.

It's been tested on Mac. It should work on PC but I can't test it - feedback's appreciated.

You can download it here: http://www.timothyarmes.com/lrmogrify.php

Regards,

Tim
__________________
http://www.timothyarmes.com
http://workshops.timothyarmes.com

All images posted in OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated Comment Only or Edit and Repost.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 17th, 2007, 12:06 PM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Hi Tim

that's interesting, as Bart talked about ImageMagick in that
thread.

Sorry for the ignorance, but if I understand correct, you' ve written a exportplugin for LR, (since the SDK is available now) loading the image directly into ImageMagick.

Now the question: I presume that ImageMagick is scriptable, therefore it it possible to define some steps, as downsizing, midtone-sharpening, saving, etc, directly out of LR?

So no need to touch the commandline? One could install ImageMagick, and the rest would be done automatically, with the help of your plugin, out of LR?

That would be a great help! As you can see from the linked thread, some people quite work for getting this best.

Michael
__________________
http://www.proimago.net

Last edited by Michael Fontana; December 17th, 2007 at 02:38 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 17th, 2007, 02:08 PM
Tim Armes Tim Armes is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Drôme, France
Posts: 404
Default

Hi,

Yes and no. The plugin calls ImageMagic on the exported files as you suggest. ImageMagick isn't 'scriptable', however you can control all of its abilities through the command line. The plugin creates the appropriate command line and calls the command.

However only a few of the features are available through the plugin's user interface. For more advanced things you have to enter the command line parameters yourself. I'm willing to expose more of ImageMagick's features via a user interface if there is a demand.

Tim
__________________
http://www.timothyarmes.com
http://workshops.timothyarmes.com

All images posted in OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated Comment Only or Edit and Repost.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 17th, 2007, 02:34 PM
Edward Bussa Edward Bussa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 673
Default

LR SDK? I had no idea such a thing existed!

Not to be ignorant, but I am - what is "mogrify"?
__________________
Ed.
adventures
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 17th, 2007, 04:07 PM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Bussa View Post
- what is "mogrify"?
In 'ImageMagick' context, it converts and replaces the file it works on.

Bart
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 17th, 2007, 11:14 PM
Tim Armes Tim Armes is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Drôme, France
Posts: 404
Default

Hi Bart,

At the moment LR/Mogrify allows you to choose the filter from a drop down menu. Would it be useful to be able to alter the other associated variables such as the radius and the number of lobes, or is that best left to advanced users via the extra command line parameters?

Tim
__________________
http://www.timothyarmes.com
http://workshops.timothyarmes.com

All images posted in OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated Comment Only or Edit and Repost.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 18th, 2007, 10:10 AM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Armes View Post
Hi Bart,

At the moment LR/Mogrify allows you to choose the filter from a drop down menu. Would it be useful to be able to alter the other associated variables such as the radius and the number of lobes, or is that best left to advanced users via the extra command line parameters?
Hi Tim,

I think it works fine as it is, and it is a great enhancement for LR.

What might be useful for some users is an -unsharp parameter option applied after resizing, but since there is no preview it is already more suitable for advanced users. It takes some knowledge of the correct radius/sigma/amount/threshold values one needs to use.

You might also want to set the -virtual-pixel parameter to 'mirror' by default. I don't think it is going to hurt anybody, given the file types that LR supports, and it will reduce potential edge artifacts in most cases. It would have to be invoked early in the command string.

To Michael, I think the new(?) Welsh filter/window will turn out to be a perfect companion for the downsampling of PhotoAcute's Superresolution output to 50%.

Bart

Last edited by Bart_van_der_Wolf; December 18th, 2007 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 19th, 2007, 02:32 AM
Tim Armes Tim Armes is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Drôme, France
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_van_der_Wolf View Post
Hi Tim,
What might be useful for some users is an -unsharp parameter option applied after resizing, but since there is no preview it is already more suitable for advanced users. It takes some knowledge of the correct radius/sigma/amount/threshold values one needs to use.
Bart
Hi Bart,

I'm currently seeking input for the sharpening interface. I'm currently leaning towards using the simpler -sharpen parameter which I feel is more appropriate for batch sharpening. It's also far easier to use.

Do you have any comments?

Tim
__________________
http://www.timothyarmes.com
http://workshops.timothyarmes.com

All images posted in OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated Comment Only or Edit and Repost.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:15 AM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Armes View Post
Hi Bart,

I'm currently seeking input for the sharpening interface. I'm currently leaning towards using the simpler -sharpen parameter which I feel is more appropriate for batch sharpening. It's also far easier to use.
Hi Tim,

If you want to keep it simple, I'd recommend -sharpen 0x? , with the '?', the floating point sigma value, being replaced by user input. The starting zero will automatically select a suitable radius for the given sigma selection. I think a simple field for entering a value would be sufficient.

Sharpening should be done before the optional border is added, and it should be possible to skip any sharpening (one could use sigma=0.0 as an off-flag, or perhaps better a checkbox to (de)activate post-sharpening).

Bart


P.S. The 'Keys' resizing option from the V1.2 filter drop down list doesn't exist AFAIK (despite it being mentioned on the IM commandline options web page), it is one of the filter options (option:filter:c) that can be set for Cubic resizing methods. You can get a version specific list of available filters with the Mogrify -list filter command.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 19th, 2007, 08:13 AM
Tim Armes Tim Armes is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Drôme, France
Posts: 404
Default

Thanks for the help. It's done and version 1.4 is available for download.
__________________
http://www.timothyarmes.com
http://workshops.timothyarmes.com

All images posted in OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated Comment Only or Edit and Repost.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet © of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion © 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!