• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

A good "BAD" joke

PHP:
Recently Posted on Pentax Forums...

Just wish to share this little story that I posted on Pentax World with you that you may find interesting...

I want to shake you ALL up...I never studied photography...I never wanted to be a photographer. I studied architecture and played drums in a punk rock group. I literally fell in to photography by ACCIDENT..Everything I learned was by experimenting. I was such a bad photographer when I started, that if I got lucky and took a good image and was asked to replicate it I couldn't. In fact about one year in to shooting, I was asked by Sears to shoot an advert for them based on an image in my S--tty portfolio. The problem is that I didn't have a vocabulary and I didn't how I did what I did in the first place, so couldn't repeat what I did. I must have lost about 50-60 percent of the clients I shot for. I would get a great fluke shot and wow them with it. "Hey Ben, we want that!";..GULP "OK" OOOOPPPPSSS Sorry.

But the good thing was this. I did stuff that nobody would even consider doing if they were taught what and what not to do. One of my techniques that I and perhaps a few people around the world at the time were doing but not aware that we were at the time was the following.