• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Flash Question, 550EX and 1Ds MKII

Paul Caldwell

I have a question, in regards to how a 1ds MKII and 550EX should work together. Over the years, my use of flash has been very limited and when I do use one, it’s always been in M mode on the Camera.

I have recently started event shooting and wanted to expand my flash range, by using either P mode or Av mode on the camera. When I started shooting like this, I ran into some strange issues on the camera.

Here is a situation I have run across and wanted to ask the forum about.

In a room dim room, ISO 125, evaluate metering, in P mode on the camera, I get the following 1/60 at F2.8. If I switch to Av mode, and set the aperture to F2.8, my shutter speed drops to 0.8, which is way to slow to hand hold, but more importantly, I don’t understand by it wouldn’t stay the same as the 1/60th I had while in P mode. If you expose the frame, you get the 0.8 shutter speed. It also seems to me that the P mode of 1/60 and F2.8 is way to low an aperture.

I have tried 2 different bodies and both seem to get the same type of reading with this flash. I am wondering if there is something wrong with the flash in that it’s not sending the correct information to the camera.

I can switch to M mode and in the same room I can get a good exposure at 1/100 and F5.6.