• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Getting Started in Real Estate/Architectural Photography

Sarah Matista

Hello All,

Sorry to interrupt the flow with a beginner "how to" question, but I am just starting to get into the real-estate-photography-for-hire world and I want to make sure I start off right. I have been working in the field for about two years now at my current employer, but photography is not the main focus of my job by any stretch. The company supplies a functioning camera, I go to people's houses and take 10 minutes worth of pictures.

But I really enjoy that aspect of my job, and I'd like to try and do it on a freelance basis for other real estate agents/home builders in my area (Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill NC) and I am a little clueless as to the best way to proceed. Since I don't have much of a portfolio yet (the images I have from the company camera are not stellar), I don't feel comfortable making up a price off the top of my head, and I honestly don't know what to say/how to pitch my services. Any thoughts on the subject would be GREATLY appreciated!

PS-I have minimal equipment of my own, but I have found it sufficient when shooting some model homes before. Nikon D50 with 18-55 DX lens, SB600 flash and a nice tripod. I don't have the funds to jump into a lot of lighting equipment right now...

thanks a bunch,

Sarah

Michael Fontana

pro member
Sarah, hallo