• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Image Size and emailing from abroad

My eldest daughter is about to embark on an extensive overseas trip taking in Africa, Europe, Central and South America. She'll be taking a Canon Ixus 850 IS (or 800, depending where you live). As a pro photographer, I'm encouraging her to shoot as large a Jpeg as possible (no more raw, of course), but her main concern is to be able to email images home, as email will be her main form of communication with us.

With connection speed being an unknown in many of the areas to which she'll be travelling, she is probably correct in trying to keep image size down. However, ending up with her trip library being filled with barely printable images I think is a concern.

Anyone know of a way around this? I imagine, too, that she should be taking a small SD card reader to plug into whatever computer she uses for her emails?

Thanks,
John.

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
I'd shoot with the largest JPG of course.

Now does she have a lap top to take with? If it's a Mac simply load the images into iphoto and email selected images from that page. One would select the side to be say 600 pixels wide and then be able to send these small jpgs , up to ten-30 a time depending on the compression and your ISP provider's email attachment allowance.