• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Canon 580EX bouncing issue

Paul McGuckin

Hi

I've been using the Canon 580EX flash for a couple of months now - using it daily in my job as a local newspaper snapper.

Problem is, I'm just using it on the basic ETTL setting and this seems to restrict me when I angle the flash to bounce it. Even where the ceiling is quite low, I struggle to force the flash to fire multiple times, to match the camera (1D IIn). Tried it on Multi setting but seems a bit hit and miss as I don't really understand the setting.

Anyone know of a good resource for using this flash unit properly?

KrisCarnmarker

Hi Paul,

First things first. The source of information on Canon EOS flash photography is this article here.

I'm not sure what you mean by "...force the flash to fire multiple times". Do you mean for each exposure, or do you mean fire multiple times for one exposure?

/Kris

Will_Perlis

Can I guess? You're using the camera on "motor" (high?) drive and the flash can't recycle fast enough to handle the burst lengths you need?

Don't forget that when bouncing the flash has to put out *lots* more power if you're keeping the aperture the same as for direct flash. You can try something like a Quantum or Canon high voltage supply for the 580 but there's a good chance you'll burn out the flash unit pretty quickly.

KrisCarnmarker

...high voltage supply for the 580 but there's a good chance you'll burn out the flash unit pretty quickly.