• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Finding my way

Jim Rhoades

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to photography... my interest in it first started about 3 years ago after my daughter was born. In the time since then I've learned quite a bit and a deep love of photography has grown. I feel very strongly now that I want to immerse myself in a life of photography and turn it into a career.

I'm still in the process of figuring out exactly what I want to do. I like travel, landscape, cityscape, architecture and possibly photojournalism or portraiture. I could see myself doing any combination of those things really - but I don't know yet how to make enough money from it to support my family. We live simply, and don't need much really - but I can't just quit my current job outright to focus on photography without having some income from it. Luckily, my wife is very supportive in all of this.

So, any advice on how I can transition into life as a full time photographer would be very helpful.

I recently set up an online gallery/blog at pixpeep.com, so you can see some of what I've done so far - I'll be adding more in the next few days.

Anyways, I've enjoyed reading some of the threads here and seeing your work.

I'm glad that I can post now. ;) Thanks for letting me share!

Career in photography

Welcome to OPF, you'll find lots of good advice from some really fine photographers and friendly folks here.