• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Flowers for my wife!

I have not been here in a while and wanted to drop by and say hello. I recently purchased a new camera and have really been enjoying it. I went from my Nikon D40, which I still love, to a D200, which I also love. It is quite a magnificent piece of equipment for someone like me. The D200 is a lot more camera than the D40 and I am still learning how to use it but so far I am very happy with its results. I'm also still buying flowers for my lovely wife to use as my subjects. I bought this rose mainly because I liked the coloring of it. It was just a single flower but it was shaped very nicely and as I said, the colors were wonderful. I think I have captured them as true to life as I could get. Tomorrow is my wife's birthday so I will have a new bunch to shoot. As always, in my effort to continue learning and improving, any and all criticism is welcomed. I have learned more just from lurking and reading here than any other place and I plan on that continuing. James
_DSC0310.jpg

_DSC0317B.jpg

janet Smith

pro member
Hello James

Congratulations on your new camera and these 2 shots, I prefer the first one, well done. The second one, from my point of view, would have been better with a slightly shallower DOF, throwing the rear of the petals into a soft blur. Look forward to seeing your wife's birthday present...lucky girl!!

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
James,