• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Need advice on High School Photos

Kevin Fox

Hello everybody,

I've been a member a matter of moments and this is my first post. I am a photographer in New York City with a studio shooting a lot of performing artists, headshots etc. I have been approached by someone to shoot school photos of 350 kids. I would love to hear from someone who has done this. What do you charge? How do you charge? How do you know who each kid is? Do you have them hold a sign with their name on it? I shoot 200 shots of an actor. Would I shoot 4 or 5 shots and pick the one I think is best and just present that or do they get to choose.

The school says they want to make it a fund raiser. So I'm to find out what the going rate is and they'll charge a bit more or something. I'm to shoot all 350 kids on the assumption that enough will order prints to make it all worth my while.

And assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Kevin Fox

ron_hiner

Welcome Kevin! You've come to the right place! Asher owns the place, and he pays the electric bill on time (or so it would appear) and he and his lieutenants are generally an agreeable bunch. Asher rarely throws people out for D&D behavior, but he has been known to get a little testy if people post pics without letting on the story of the pic, and the all the gory tech details. (just kidding). (I think).

I've done this kind of shoot with 80 elementary school kids... hopefully some of what I learned will help you.