• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Ethical Judgements in Photojournalism

Hannah Welbourn

Hi,

I'm a Birmingham University student currently writing my dissertation on the ethics of photojournalism and I'm interested in finding out how you make ethical decisions in the field - whether this is based on guidelines you may have been given (during training or by an employer, etc) or whether your decisions are based on personal judgement.

I'd be extremely grateful for any opinions or examples of occasions when you have had to make ethical judgements that you can offer to contribute to my study.

Many Thanks, Hannah.

Ray West

Hi Hannah,

First of all, welcome to opf.

I can't help much wrt your specific question, at least not in any professional way wrt still images, but in return, your 'abandoned wheel', did you leave it there, or dispose of it properly, did you even think much about it, or were you more concerned with your wet feet?

Best wishes,

Ray

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
Hi Hannah,

Where else to give you a great welcome but here overlapping your important question. I visited your website and totally enjoyed so many of your images especially the bridge wqith the bicyclist and the abandoned wheel and oh, yes, the columns of the bridge with the serendipitous ladybug. But there are so many more. I sent you a list!