• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Theatre 'posed' shots and thanks!

Shane Carter

If you recall, I'm very new to strobes (first set of strobes purchased in Nov) and have received some good advice here as I work through the learning curve. So here is a story and results from an ever learning strobe newbie.

I had to shoot a musical and that I've done before, but they wanted some promo shots before.

So I brought my strobes just in case, but the idea was to do this with the stage light banks. It turned out not only was the set not complete, but more of shock was that the stage light people are not even showing up for this dress rehersal!!!

And the cast was going to be doing 'notes' first so I had time to set up the lights. Not! I'm standing there just pulling out the first light and finding plugs and the entire cast, in costume and makeup is standing there watching me. I ask what is up...they are waiting for me! So anyway, I got the lights up in a hurry because they still had a run through to do after.

Ugh, just me, no helper, and we run through about 30 shots on a long list of pre-planned poses the producer has, many that required changes in lighting set up. None of them the way I would have preferred if I had more time to set up the shots better. They needed some for the press release the next morning. Last min in every way!