Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > The Gear > Macintosh

Macintosh All Power PC and Intel platforms.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old November 28th, 2010, 02:14 PM
Alain Briot Alain Briot is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lomatutskwa
Posts: 1,407
Default

3% to go then...
__________________
Alain Briot
Fine Art, Workshops, books and DVD Tutorials
http://www.beautiful-landscape.com
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old November 28th, 2010, 05:46 PM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Bussa View Post
Ah, I get it. So, when Windows caching (aka, SuperFetch or Windows Host Services in Task Manager) is pigging all the RAM, you use CleverCache to force it back down...

Right now it looks like Windows caching is at about 100mb for me right now... thats after a reboot... I assume I could reclaim SOME of that by using CleverCache - is that the idea?
Yes, depending on one's preferences (which can be changed, whenever the need arises, per activated process if desired), and it runs automatically in the background. To give you an idea, when on 'AutoSense', I currently have 2071 MB of the total 8000 MB RAM in use (Photoshop open with one 21MB image, video in the background, browsing 10 websites, and having several Explorer windows open to move files, and the virus scanner is probably doing its background tasks, as are a number of other processes). Photoshop has plenty of RAM available for Scratch when needed, before the efficiency drops below 100%.

Cheers,
Bart
__________________
If you do what you did, you'll get what you got.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old November 28th, 2010, 05:54 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_van_der_Wolf View Post
Yes, depending on one's preferences (which can be changed, whenever the need arises, per activated process if desired), and it runs automatically in the background. To give you an idea, when on 'AutoSense', I currently have 2071 MB of the total 8000 MB RAM in use (Photoshop open with one 21MB image, video in the background, browsing 10 websites, and having several Explorer windows open to move files, and the virus scanner is probably doing its background tasks, as are a number of other processes). Photoshop has plenty of RAM available for Scratch when needed, before the efficiency drops below 100%.

Cheers,
Bart
But then, have a 1.5 GB file, with 15-40 layers and what happens? I can't imagine that efficiency stays at 100% with a small scratch disk that is not defragmented or the startup drive with the OS and PS being nearly full up with generous contiguous free space for the OS to breathe!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old November 28th, 2010, 06:04 PM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
OPF Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
But then, have a 1.5 GB file, with 15-40 layers and what happens? I can't imagine that efficiency stays at 100% with a small scratch disk that is not defragmented or the startup drive with the OS and PS being nearly full up with generous contiguous free space for the OS to breathe!
Hi Asher,

When the allocated percentage of RAM allotted to scratch is used up, an SSD or a number of striped RAID disks will allow to keep the perfomance at a high level. All I'm saying is that, with Windows 7 purring along happily, there are options to postpose the moment of performance degradation. Of course with one's OS and the various temporary/scratch/spool/virtual memory files on an SSD RAID, starting up applications will be faster overall, which is nice.

Cheers,
Bart
__________________
If you do what you did, you'll get what you got.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAM: Have you had to rebuild a raid array because of a disk failure? Asher Kelman Digital Asset Management: access & storage of image files. 2 September 22nd, 2009 11:56 AM
Thoughts on a hard drive for a mirrored raid... Michael Seltzer Storage - Memory 8 June 3rd, 2007 03:40 PM
Computers: integral to photography mburke911 Windows on PC 16 June 11th, 2006 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion 2006-2014 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!