Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > OPF Welcome Hall > Breaking News

Breaking News Updates, innovations, equipment: moderated!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 2nd, 2010, 11:25 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is online now
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,811
Default Lock mode button for Canon: Is there bang for the buck?

]

Canon Product Advisory: here

Canon's new Mode lock button can be yours for $100! While other companies, like Pentax and Nikon, built this into the mode dial, we Canon loyalists have to pay extra for what should be considered repairing a design flaw. Or is my frustration unique finding that the mode button shitted from Manual to Tv during a shoot!

So who is going to update their cameras?

I for one! Really I love my canons and welcome the fix. But $100? That's steep!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 04:13 AM
Tom Robbins Tom Robbins is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 837
Default

Asher, I had two reactions when I first saw this fix a couple days ago. First was, "alright!", and the second, when I saw the price was, "no way!" I'll continue to use a bit of vinyl electric tape to keep my mode dial locked on manual. The tape doesn't last too long, but at less than a penny per application, the body will be a museum piece before total cost of tape reaches even a small fraction of the cost of the lock.

And then, thinking about it some more, I realized that this lock is really a fix for a design flaw. Asking owners to pony up for the fix is a bit arrogant, don't you think?

I think I read that it would be available only in Japan for the time being, so it won't a decision to wrestle with any time soon.
__________________
Tom Robbins
West of Lake Michigan, East of Mississippi River
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 04:30 AM
Sandrine Bascouert Sandrine Bascouert is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brighton (UK)
Posts: 991
Default

I had that one on my Nikon FA and Olympus OM30 many moons ago (you had to lift the wheel in order to de-lock it)....That's Progress!
__________________
Sandrine: the genuine "5th wheel of the wagon". Second to none! Established 1970.
website
C&C always welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 07:02 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,202
Default

Hi, Asher,

Interesting development.

I personally do not have any problem inadvertently changing the shooting mode on EOS digital cameras.

I would likely find a full-time release button a nuisance, but perhaps not.

Now, if Canon would introduce a release button that could be, for example by depressing it and turning it, disabled, I would think that very nice.

I have changed shutter release buttons in EOS digital cameras, and I would not do it for $100.00. (Free, perhaps, but not for $100.00.)

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 09:42 AM
Nill Toulme Nill Toulme is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Posts: 1,407
Default

Happily they are not offering this for the T2i, as I would be tempted. I'll stick (so to speak) with gaffer's tape.

Nill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 10:22 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is online now
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Robbins View Post
Asher, I had two reactions when I first saw this fix a couple days ago. First was, "alright!", and the second, when I saw the price was, "no way!" I'll continue to use a bit of vinyl electric tape to keep my mode dial locked on manual. The tape doesn't last too long, but at less than a penny per application, the body will be a museum piece before total cost of tape reaches even a small fraction of the cost of the lock.
I find the moving of the dial a real issue every single day! It's a design flaw IMHO. The tape is not a solution for me as I do change often between manual and Av. Those are all I need.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Robbins View Post
I think I read that it would be available only in Japan for the time being, so it won't a decision to wrestle with any time soon.
It's supposed to be avalable in US service centers from December 2010!


Contact Information for Inquiries:
Canon U.S.A., Inc.
Canon Customer Support Center
Phone: 1-800-OK-CANON
1-800-652-2666
TTD: 1-866-251-3752
E-mail: carecenter@cits.canon.com
Support options and hours of operation: http://www.usa.canon.com/support
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 4th, 2010, 12:34 AM
Kathy Rappaport Kathy Rappaport is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So. California
Posts: 1,793
Default All the time

It's so annoying to spend $2500 plus tax for a camera and have photos that are useless because you knock the dial into the wrong mode. It doesn't take much. I have more than one 5d2 so it's more than $100 for me but I think necessary to do.
__________________
You can call me ChatKat
********************
I created this piece of fine art. It's Fine Art because it's mine, I made it and I say it's fine art...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 12th, 2011, 09:24 PM
Chris Kettle Chris Kettle is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default

I'l love to dial mode lock for my 550D, but I don't think that I'm will to fork out $100 yet.
Maybe I'll change my mind when I end up with some ruined photos because the dial shifted on me :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 12th, 2011, 10:03 PM
Cody White Cody White is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 307
Default

My cheap Canon XT doesn't even have the locking mode button, Nor would I wouldn't pay for there design flaw. if enough people complain about it they might drop the price.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 15th, 2011, 06:14 PM
Don Ferguson Jr. Don Ferguson Jr. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody White View Post
My cheap Canon XT doesn't even have the locking mode button, Nor would I wouldn't pay for there design flaw. if enough people complain about it they might drop the price.
Yea ,I so want a 7D and will get one when it comes down a little more .I have a XT as well but once I put it in AV of which I use most the time it stays . I do not see how it gets knocked out easy.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 16th, 2011, 01:56 AM
Ben Rubinstein Ben Rubinstein is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,540
Default

Would love it but not available for my 5D classics, oh well, knocked my dial onto something weird 3 times during the last wedding...
__________________
Ben Rubinstein
Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com
Blog: http://thedustylenscap.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 16th, 2011, 08:00 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,202
Default

Hi, Cody,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody White View Post
My cheap Canon XT doesn't even have the locking mode button, Nor would I wouldn't pay for there design flaw. if enough people complain about it they might drop the price.
Are we thinking of the same Canon?

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!