Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > Digital Darkroom > Image Processing and Workflow

Image Processing and Workflow RAW, DNG , TIFF and JPG. From Capture to Ready for Publish/Display. All software and techniques used within an image workflow, (except extensive retouching and repair or DAM).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 15th, 2010, 11:00 AM
leonardobarreto.com leonardobarreto.com is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 953
Default Capture one $60

I have used PhaseOne's Capture 1 for about 4 years --time of quite a bit of evolutionary changes-- with my digital back.

Now I am preparing myself to going in to the Canon EOS 5D2 and recently got a Canon G11 so I need to be able to convert Canon raw files.

Phase One provides the DB version of their PRO program for freee to process Phase backs.

So I just purchased the Phase One 5.1.2 for $64,00 USD

This is NOT the PRO version of Phase One that costs about $400 --and that I can not afford at the time--

The PRO and non PRO differences are:

*no tethered direct shoot in to C1
*no compose shots from monitor with Live Preview
*no Focus Mask
*no multiple monitor support
*no customize workspace
*no Styles tool
*no selective Color Editor tool
*no individual color channel RGB curves
*no Skin Tone Enhancer
*no dust and spots tool
*no Lens Correction tool
*no image rights protection watermark

From this, I will probably miss: Lens Corrections tool, (customize workspace is nice as is multiple monitor support) and Focus Mask etc.

But the main raw conversion tool High Dinamic Range, copy and paste image adjustments, WEB GALLERIES, work while you process capability, metadata wholesale editing etc... all for $60 is an interesting deal.

One question --that I am waiting response from Phase-- is this: How do I work with two versions of Capture One, a PRO version that only processes P25 files and a non-PRO one that I purchased to work with my CANON files...

The one feature that I will also miss is the tethered shooting capability with a CANON camera, but I think that I can use the EOS software to control and shoot the DSLR and import to a file that will show the RAW on Capture One. I have seen a friend do that and it will probably be a bit of learning curve worth the trouble...

[Disclosure: I have no interest whatsoever in anyone purchasing a PhaseOne product, but I think that this offer may be interested to other OPS members, so I am reproducing it here]

Prices: Capture One 5 Summer Offer Crazy Summer Offer - Only three days left!
The offer is only valid for the basic version of Capture One 5 and expires 18th June 2010.

Capture One 5
Euro 49.50 / USD 64.50

Upgrade from Capture One 4 to Capture One 5
Euro 34.50 / USD 49.50

Upgrade from Capture One 3 to Capture One 5
Euro 34.50 / USD 49.50

--Use voucher code: CO5OFFER ---
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 16th, 2010, 06:23 AM
leonardobarreto.com leonardobarreto.com is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 953
Default Two Capture One versions

Ok, I got my set up working, and this is the way it works.

I get to use the DB version for the back files OR the Captuere One -non PRO- to work with CANON files ... I only have to open one or the other as required (both versions cannot be on at same time)

Wen I get an extra $300 I will upgrade to PRO ...

I like the simplicity of the $64 version of C1, I will run son CANON files to see how it works...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 17th, 2010, 06:32 AM
Bart_van_der_Wolf Bart_van_der_Wolf is offline
pro member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leonardobarreto.com View Post
Ok, I got my set up working, and this is the way it works.

I get to use the DB version for the back files OR the Captuere One -non PRO- to work with CANON files ... I only have to open one or the other as required (both versions cannot be on at same time)

Wen I get an extra $300 I will upgrade to PRO ...

I like the simplicity of the $64 version of C1, I will run son CANON files to see how it works...
Hi Leonardo,

That good to hear. It's a good entry price for the non-Pro C1 version (and it will make upgrading a bit cheaper).

The tethering offered by the accompanying Canon software is much more useful for most users. It allows much more control than just pressing the shutter remotely. Of the lens corrections in the Pro version, I find the chromatic aberration correction and sharpness fall-off correction most useful. Being able to adjust dust and spots is a workflow improvement, especially when processing many similar shots which allow to apply the dust correction in batch.

Cheers,
Bart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 17th, 2010, 09:03 AM
Bernhard Rees Bernhard Rees is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southwest of Germany
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leonardobarreto.com View Post
...

One question --that I am waiting response from Phase-- is this: How do I work with two versions of Capture One, a PRO version that only processes P25 files and a non-PRO one that I purchased to work with my CANON files...

...
A straight forward approach to solve this issue is to install the Pro and non-Pro version in 2 separate directories with different names. During setup of the license file all the rest is managed by the software. Unfortunately I can not answer whether there is any difference in installations run on WIN and MAC computers to sort out this issue in this way. It definitely works on WIN operated computers.

Regards,

Bernhard
__________________

Photography does not distinguish between 'picture' and 'reality'. People do - sometimes!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture One 4.1.2 Mike Bailey Image Processing and Workflow 0 August 14th, 2008 03:00 AM
Capture One v4.1 is out John_Nevill Image Processing and Workflow 8 May 15th, 2008 11:17 PM
Capture One 4 Now Available ! Nicolas Claris Image Processing and Workflow 34 December 20th, 2007 02:00 PM
Capture One PRO updated to 3.7.7 Nicolas Claris Breaking News 6 May 1st, 2007 03:14 PM
Capture One 4? Peter Mendelson Image Processing and Workflow 25 February 12th, 2007 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet © of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion © 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!