• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Sharpening workflow question

Phil Marion

I am new to digital RAW processing - finally gave up my film camera earlier this year. I did notice that shooting RAW puts weight on as I spend too much time on my computer. So less time spent trying to learn proper sharpening techniques is essential. Please help!
I've read Bruce Fraser's sharpening book and sadly I still am somewhat confused. It doesn't speak to my situation for I now use ACR 4.1 for initial capture sharpening and I don't print my photos, preferring to view them online at 1100 pixels (at it greatest length) on my NEC 20WMGX2 monitor (in case this is relevant).

My current workflow is a multiphase sharpening.
I use ACR to capture sharpen, using the methods described by Jeff Schewe in his Photoshopnews article. I use the sharpening mask and sliders.