• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

What's The Best Price Around on a 1D MkIII?

Lucio Gomes

Like the title of the post says, I'm looking to buy one and I'm a poor amateur,
so a $200 difference is huge for me!!

thanks

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
Lucio,

Why would you want one? For about $2200 you can get a good used 1DMark II which will more than cover all you could possible need in the next 2 years.

I'd encourage you to take advantage working professionals and, more so, of the myriads of rich people who cannot keep their hands off the latest whizzbang toys. Unless you are really limited by the 1DII, there is absolutely no reason for any amateur to get a 1D Mark III.

In fact, the Canon Rebel XTi, if availabe 15 years ago would have been worth $10,000 to $30,000 to many professional photographers. I'd even argue that a Canon G3 Digicam, which can control several banks of Canon speedlight flashes, would serve most amateurs well except for telephoto.

The Canon Rebel Xti, however, can take all the Canon lenses and is almost at a give-away price! Here, by the way, you do not need L lenses. The EF lenses are great performers. Just pull back from wide open! At f8 there may be little difference, I promise you!